Absence Makes the Heart Grow Fonder

I’ve been away from my blog for a while. Not because I’ve lost confidence in my blog (or really my writing), but because I’d lost some confidence in myself. I’ve been in a state of flux for the past month not really knowing where to take my writing career from here, but I finally have a plan in place (thanks in part to lots of people in my life).

Actually, it’s been horrible being a bit adrift creatively and not really knowing where I was heading. But I started this blog to track my progress from being only part of the way through a novel to invariably get it published. Whether I self-publish, or if I’m lucky enough to get backing from a publisher that actually feels like my modest little supernatural crime-thriller deserves to be on the shelves, I will one day have this published.

To that end, I have come up with something of a loose plan, which first of all means I have to edit Haunt one more time. Just a quick toss-over to change some little bits. Actually, it’s probably important to mention that Haunt has had it’s first ever beginning-to-end read-through from a very dear friend of mine. I trust her opinion and she told me what I didn’t imagine I would hear… That it was really good.

I also enlisted a sample service of a professional editor, who edited the first few pages of my novel for me and gave me some pointers, and who actually read (and subsequently gave feedback on) the whole first part of my novel. Probably the thing that stunned me the most was that the editor had no idea that Stephen King is an idol of mine, but loosely stated that my writing is similar to King’s. They also said, and I quote, that it is “very well written.”

So that was really all I needed to remind myself that all these years of hard work and all the effort I’ve put in to my writing is actually worth it. Whether I find success this year or in the next 5 years (or the next 25!) I am determined to reach my goal. But one important thing I’ve realised this year is that, in the meantime, I have to my backup. I have to try and do something else with my life, just in case my writing never reaches the wide audience I hope it does.

That being said, I’ve also found success in a novel I tried writing a few years ago. I’ve refined the story and scraped off the excess fat to turn it into something streamlined and clever, something with a real message. I knew it was never going to be an abandoned project because I’ve got an A4 journal filled with notes and history and all sorts, but it was nice to stumble back into it in such a nice way. I tried my hand at my fantasy epic, but I feel like that story still hasn’t matured enough to become anything real. This story however, tentatively titled The Last Courier, is something that I think could really gain some traction.

https://i1.wp.com/i.imgur.com/SQi1YVZ.jpg

Yes, I often like to indulge myself a mock-up cover when I’m excited about a project.

This is my return to form now. Refocusing attention on Haunt, juggling some work on The Last Courier when I feel like writing something new, and all the while keeping my eye on the prize. I’m just going to stay true to myself and always keep pushing to pursue my passion.

And to close this “return to form”, here is a throwback Thursday picture of me from when I was either 16 or 17 years old.

https://i1.wp.com/i.imgur.com/VGgYRIt.jpg

This will not be on the inside cover of my first successful novel. Well… maybe it will.

4 comments on “Absence Makes the Heart Grow Fonder

  1. dannigrrl says:

    Hi Kyle. Thank you for following my blog! I have to say that so many of my writer friends (and myself included) have been on this writerly hiatus of late. But we all seem to be catching the wind in our sails again. I wish you the best in your writing.

  2. Just Patty says:

    I am glad that you found your confidence again. You need that when you are a writer!
    And if your writing is similar to King, I would definitely buy that book of yours when it’s getting published!
    Keep going and don’t give up.
    Lots of love
    Patty

  3. Ajaytao2010 says:

    Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

    Happy New Year !!!!!!! and best wishes for you in 2014 šŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for the follow! I see you and I are of similar mindsets when it comes to writing. It’s always nice to have someone who isn’t a friend or family member reaffirm that what you produce is actually worthwhile. It really helps keep the confidence up. Good luck with your writing! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

