New Year, Constant Changes

Happy New Year! To be honest, despite achieving my resolution from last year (which was to finish writing a book), I couldn’t be happier to see the rear end of 2013. The first half of last year was okay, punctuated by some high moments that counter-balanced the lower moments. From September onwards, however? Well, that was a struggle.

I’m not going to dive into a woe-is-me rant about the things I lost last year though, only highlight that this new year is a time for new beginnings. I have a feeling my life (and my writing) is going to have to take a huge turn this year and undergo some pretty powerful overhauls if I want to make it to 2015 in one piece.

One thing that has kept me going in spite of these constant changes was a Christmas present from my friend Jennie. I found myself unwrapping the first (and so far, only) copy of my own novel, Haunt. Needless to say I got pretty emotional when I held it in my hands for the first time and finally felt like a proper writer. Here is a picture of me posing with the book.

Here I am, posing with the first ever printed copy of Haunt.

The book itself wasn’t even the entire gift. I’m now signed up (registration provided and paid-for) to a website where I can print and publish anything I write. I was completely overwhelmed, but it’s been a good kick up the ass to get moving and further my writing more. I’m even considering polishing Haunt and then publishing it through this site, selling it as both ebook and hard-copy. Sure, it’s not exactly how I’d imagined becoming a writer, but who needs a professional publisher? Ah well, we’ll see. I’m only toying with the idea at the moment.

For now, here’s to a happy new year and the chance to make some positive changes in my life. I think I’ll start with working a little bit more on my seemingly brilliant fantasy novel (that could prove to be a revolting failure when I look back on it in a month or so). To all my readers, I wish you a healthy and happy and successful 2014!

6 comments on “New Year, Constant Changes

  1. codedjeannie says:

    Wow, congratulations! Keep it up.. thanks for following my blog.. Happy New Year! 🙂

    -Jeannie

  2. Welldone and happy new year to you.

  3. Oloriel says:

    Congratulations and Happy New year! 🙂

  4. Ranting Crow says:

    Looking slick. And Uhm you will tell us when it is up for sale right.
    Happy new year man. may the new year bring lots of smiles and inspiration your way.

  5. Kavita Joshi says:

    lovely post…and awesome blog dear..thanks for visiting mine at http://talkingexperience.wordpress.com

  6. Thank you so much for following my blog, Kyle. And a big congrats on the book!

Leave a Reply

