Editing, Exorcised

I stuck with the project. I stayed faithful to what I was working on. I persevered, and now it’s done.

When I originally finished Haunt on the 3rd of September it was 83,354 words long. Now it’s 89,982 over 202 pages. I know that makes it seem like all I’ve done is add a bunch of crap in there, but when I consider the amount of stuff I omitted it just gives me hope that I actually ended up adding a great deal of depth to the story.

I know that two days ago I was complaining that I hated the novel. Well, that hasn’t necessarily changed. I’ve still lost a lot of faith in just how good… just how publishable the novel is (because, let’s face it, that’s the goal here, isn’t it?), but at least I know I put the time in. I wrote the novel, I did my research and put in the time, and now I’ve edited it and made it a complete and semi-polished piece of work. If I put it in your hands right now you could read it from beginning to end and it would make sense. I consider that a massive success.

I started this blog to follow the steps that a novel should take from conception to fruition and my subsequent attempts to get published. Well, that’s still what I’m going to do. The next step? For people to actually, finally, read it. This is the part I’ve been waiting for. I’m excited, but also nervous. Soon I’ll be handing out copies to my dearest and most trusted confidants, the people who I know will be willing to read it from beginning to end for me and tell me what works and what doesn’t work.

There’s bound to be some good stuff in there, isn’t there?

Aside from that, I’m still going to work towards trying to get the book published. Hundreds, possibly thousands of bad books get published every year. Mine is no literary achievement, or the kind of thing that is going to be putting Stephen King or Gillian Flynn out of a job, but I’m still fairly certain that it will be an enjoyable little thrill-ride from beginning to end. In my eyes, it’s still something worth publishing. It’s still something worth paying for.

In the meantime I’m going to have some fun starting a bunch of writing projects. Most of them will hit brick walls and will never be seen by human eyes, but there could just be that next gem waiting to be uncovered. Haunt is a gem and I will always love it as the first fully-completed piece of work I’ve ever done, but it’s not a gem that shines too brightly. I’m waiting to uncover that Pink Star Diamond – my pièce de résistance. Who knows? It could be just around the corner.

3 comments on “Editing, Exorcised

  1. Hand it over mate. I’m happy to look it over if you’ll allow me the privilege. Otherwise I’ll pick it up at Water stones in the near future 🙂

  2. dawnhosking says:

    Fantastic achievement, hope your readers enjoy it and give you some good feedback 😉

  3. Congrats and wish you the best innit.

Leave a Reply

