The Treacherous Road Towards Success

So as I venture further and further into my “journey from paper to print” (the tagline of my blog) I’ve found myself learning a lot. I’ve learned more about the craft of writing than I ever thought I could know, I learned more about fellow-writers and the people who support me, but most of all I’ve learned more about myself. It’s actually quite a comfort to know that writing has become more than just a hobby to me. It’s a real passion now and something that has evolved from my childhood, writing stories on the Commodore 64, to me in the here and now taking it very seriously. And yet, I’m still having a lot of fun with it.

https://i0.wp.com/i.imgur.com/L96gAtC.jpg

The Commodore 64, which I suppose you could say was my first typewriter – aged 4.

The most recent thing I’m learning about is the world of publishing. How can I expect to crack such a competitive market if I don’t know anything about the industry? It’s true what they say: With the advent of self-publishing and eBooks it’s harder than ever in this world to get a piece of work published in the traditional sense. And what’s worse is you know you’ve got thousands of other would-be writers to contend with. It’s daunting, but if I let myself get bogged down by things like that I’d never have finished Haunt in the first place. So my best friend, Jennie (terrific human being that she is), bought me a book to help me along in that sense.

https://i0.wp.com/i.imgur.com/R8ykHM6.jpg

I’m one chapter in and I’m already learning invaluable lessons about the publishing industry.

So far I’ve learned bits and pieces about how to write from On Writing by Stephen King and The Elements of Style by Strunk and White. I’ve gleaned useful information from the Writers & Artists Yearbook 2012 & 2013, and now I’m getting even more of a schooling about getting published from The Insiders Guide to Getting Your Book Published by Rachael Stock. I wouldn’t say it’s exactly a formula to sure-thing-success, but it’s nice to look back at it that way and see that my dedication has manifested itself in various forms, even when I thought I was close to giving up. Hell, I even liaised back-and-forth with a police captain in America to get some real-life facts to help develop my story!

Anyway, this is more of a musing than anything else. I just needed a bit of a warm-up for my brain after watching Behind the Candelabra with Scott this evening. I then decided to do a solid hour of Haunt reading-and-editing, but the blog came first tonight. It’s nice to get some words out on page straight from your head – it breaks the monotony of the daily grind a bit to at least confront your thoughts head-on.

2 comments on “The Treacherous Road Towards Success

  1. Don’t give up, don’t give up, don’t give up! Mantra worthy of tattooing on your forehead. Nice post!

  2. dawnhosking says:

    The very best of luck, I’m really glad to be in touch with you and am now following your blog as I will be in the same position soon – well hopefully when I am up to doing some of my 2nd draft – oh and Mr King rocks! 😉

Leave a Reply

