Reading and Writing and Living a Life

So I’ve finished two things this week towards my reading/writing endeavours. The first of which was finishing a short story, which is part of a little project I’m working on at the moment. The short story (which I mentioned in a previous entry) is tentatively titled Another Case and is a bit of a ghost/supernatural/mystery story. It is almost precisely 7,500 words long and quite a digestible little piece of fiction, if I do say so myself.

The “little project I’m working on” is actually a short-story anthology to try and get my name out there a little bit. I aim to finish it and get it on Amazon for a very ridiculously cheap price just to get my name out there a bit and so people can familiarize themselves with my writing and my style. It is going to be an amalgamation of all the different genres and themes that I would like to explore in my writing (whether I make a career out of it or not).

The second thing that I finished was Stephen King’s Doctor Sleep, the sequel to The Shining. As a huge member of the Stephen Kingdom of fans (see what I did there?), King can do little wrong in my eyes. That being said his previous novel Joyland has not grabbed my attention or my intrigue like most of his other novels. Doctor Sleep is a triumph in many ways. It sets out to explore what happened to Dan (formerly Danny) Torrance of The Shining and also set a new story in place that is new and thrilling and action-packed.

In those senses, King manages to hit every note with perfection. Albeit some missed opportunities or some pieces of the story that feel underused or not expanded on/explored enough, the story is a success. As a sequel to The Shining… well, that’s another thing altogether. Often I felt like I wasn’t reading anything to do with Doctor Sleep‘s predecessor, but a whole new story (which, in many ways, is what I suppose this book is). It just felt like the ties to The Shining were tenuous and a little bit flimsy. Perhaps I was just expecting too much? Either way, the book is great and I would recommend it to anybody who has an interest in finding out what happened to Danny Torrance.

As for my main goal (and thereby the reason this blog exists) I have dipped in to some editing of Haunt over the last week, but not so much hands-on as just… I don’t know, window shopping seems like the best phrase to use. I’m peering through a pane of glass and seeing what tickles my fancy and then when the 6 week keep-away-from-your-novel period is over I’m going to go in and get everything I’ve been looking at through that window. Namely: neaten and tidy the story, polish the last few chapters (they’re a mess), and root out any plot holes. Then we’ll see where we go from there, but I have a feeling that by the end of November Haunt will be pretty much where I want it to be.

I’ve also been getting some quotes for online printing and binding for copies of the manuscript. That way when I send them off I can do so safe in the knowledge that it looks, at the very least, like a professional attempt at writing a novel. Actually, it is a professional attempt at writing a novel! Only… it’s coming from an amateur with little-to-no writing experience. At least on my writing resume I can now say that I have a fairly successful blog with over 400 followers.

And on that note I would like to say a massive thank you to my readers for keeping me going. It’s been a hard road this far and I know it’s only going to get harder, but having readers and fellow-writers supporting me is really getting me through this. Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart.

2 comments on “Reading and Writing and Living a Life

  1. Marty Wotton says:

    I am so pleased for you, and I await a draft with anticipation. You also make me feel extremely proud with what you are achieving, whether or not you become a successful novelist. I would certainly buy your short stories, having been fortunate enough to read some of your early attempts at writing. Good Luck and hope you are still ok to celebrate my achievement on the 25th ! x

Leave a Reply

