The Tales Our Eyes Whisper To Us

https://i0.wp.com/i.imgur.com/dERkQSN.jpgWise words from Ralph Waldo Emerson – we owe much to our eyes.

I want to start this entry with an apology first and foremost. This was meant to come with a bunch of photos I took yesterday on a long walk I took around the city but due to some irritating technical difficulties I won’t be able to include them. I might grab some similar picture reminiscent of what I took and put them in, but let’s see how this unfolds.

Anyway – so yesterday I got up feeling lethargic and a little like somebody had injected cement into my joints. I’ve only been between jobs for 12 days and it’s really taken a toll on me. It feels like it’s been a very long and unproductive month of not working, but it’s not even been two weeks. It’s had an effect on my writing too, namely: I haven’t got a lot done.

I sat down yesterday to work on one of my two favourite short stories that I’ve got on the go tentatively titled ‘Natasha‘ about a woman who works as a freelance assassin/kidnapper/bounty hunter. I was all ready to get going when my fingers landed on the keyboard and nothing happened. I sat there trying to think of some inspiration, but I soon realised that my inspiration comes from what I see with my eyes, so I set out across the city with my boyfriends camera and wrapped up in two jackets (the weather was awful yesterday).

I returned with a modicum of success. The photos were crap, which you would see if I had the ability to pop them on here, but the inspiration definitely came. I only wrote a hundred words or so after that, but it was the kind of writing that came with very little resistance and the kind that you know might have the potential to be pretty good. It got me thinking about what we see with our eyes – the things we read, the landscapes we scan, the buildings we soak in – and the stories they might whisper to us when we’re not even thinking about it. There’s always a certain amount of background knowledge that comes out in my writing and I find myself saying, “Wait, how do I know that off the top of my head?”

In the meantime I’ve finally gotten back into reading thanks to – you guessed it – my hero, Stephen King. The release of the sequel to The Shining, titled Doctor Sleep, has had me reading more over the last two days than I have done since July. It’s shocking to admit that I haven’t done that much reading in so long, but in my defense I did finish my novel so at least I was getting something reading/writing-related done and certainly remaining productive in that time. So far the novel is superb and is making me itch to get back to editing Haunt, but I know it’s too early for that at the moment so in the meantime I’ll continue with my short stories and reading Stephen King and appearing on my blog from time to time to assure my readers (and myself) that very soon I will begin the process of appealing to publishers and agents that I am a wise investment.

https://i1.wp.com/i.imgur.com/IJnDlQy.jpg

An amazing novel – fueling the fire for when I return to editing Haunt.

4 comments on “The Tales Our Eyes Whisper To Us

  1. I hope you return soon with a review. I’m a fan of the Shining from way back, only I haven’t exactly been a loyal fan of King. Sounds like you have been and I’m sure many of us would love to hear your thoughts. Also, how exactly the reinvigorated reading impacts your writing, which it most certainly will.

  2. Hana Telige says:

    I can totally relate to not being able to get writing done. I just graduated from college and I’m still looking for a job. I have all this free time, but sometimes I just can’t write. Maybe I’ll follow your example and head outside with a camera next time I get writer’s block.

    • kylewotton says:

      I know what you mean about not being able to write sometimes. I kind of hate on myself for having free time and not being able to write, but it just happens that way sometimes. Good luck with you writing though and I hope my little blog helps or inspires in some small way!

      Thank you for reading 🙂

  3. oldspouse says:

    Hello, Kyle,

    I want to say thanks for following me at http://www.oldspouse.wordpress.com.

    I’d like to add that if you enjoy my “This Old Spouse” column, I think you’ll love this:

    http://www.amazon.com/The-Oklo-Device-ebook/dp/B00F9IPO04/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1379510327&sr=1-1

    Or you can go here:

    http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/354657

    It’s a terrifying story called The Oklo Device.

    Take a look at the story; see if you get hooked on it, e-mail me at roger.white@tasb.org, and I’ll send you the rest. If you like the story, please share with others. This is the only way good things happen today–agents and publishers are of the dinosaur era. They’re slow; they’re frightened; and they’ll eat you if you’re not careful. We’re on our own. I truly believe in this book. If you do, too, share it with someone. Thank you!

    And thank you so much, again, for being one of the faithful.

    Best regards,
    Roger White
    “This Old Spouse”

Leave a Reply

