The End… Of The First Draft.

https://i1.wp.com/i.imgur.com/ZiEM5rn.png

I just wrote this a mere few minutes ago and I feel phenomenal.

33 chapters across 184 pages and a total word count of 83,354 words. The moment I have been waiting for since I started this project nine months ago has finally arrived. I wrote the words ‘the end’ and have officially closed the first draft of my novel. I think I got a bit excitable and rushed towards the end, so I’m certain that the last few chapters are going to need more work than any other part of the book but… well, it’s done!

I can’t believe that after all these years of teaching myself to write and the innumerable attempts I’ve gone through to write a story I find myself here at last. I’m at the next stage, the next part of the process. I almost can’t wait to dive in and start adding/editing/changing/omitting, but I also know that it’s a big job and one of the most important parts, so it’s something I’m really going to need to invest my time in.

I already have a plan: I’m going to do the adding/omitting part first to make sure that the story is, at the very least, a coherent piece of literature from beginning to end. Once that’s done I’m going to edit/change and make sure it’s polished and to a standard that I could give it to somebody and not be afraid that they would tear it to pieces. Once that’s done I’m going to give it to my closest friends, family and confidants and ask them to read it for me and come back with notes. After that I’m going to dive in to ‘Project: Final Draft’ and see how that goes. From there… well, that’s the whole point of this blog I suppose.

I did come here to talk about my writing process, my inspiration, my characters and other such things but I guess this was mostly about what happens once the book is actually finished. I want to document my successes and, equally so, my failures. I’ve completed the first step – now let’s see where I go from here. It’s very exciting!

On a related side-note I’ve also made the decision that between my second and third drafts of Haunt I’m going to write and self-publish a short story inspired by one of my friends. That’s a little way off at the moment, but I’m excited to get my name out there and see what happens. Thanks for reading!

20 comments on “The End… Of The First Draft.

  1. Please be careful when editing the FINAL yourself. You might find, as i did, that you may end up skipping sentences. It is very easy to do since you are the one who wrote it. Also, i wouldn’t give it to too many people. You don’t want a lot of copies out there floating around. Did you copyright it? Do that FIRST before anyone puts their hands on it. Its cheap and easy to do it yourself. Go to http://www.copyright.gov. good luck and congrats!

    • Thank you very much for the tips! I’m definitely taking your advice and not shirking it at all. I know this is a big project and I certainly shouldn’t be throwing it away because I’d be wasting a great opportunity.

      Thank you for reading! 🙂

  2. Fantastic! Excited for you. lisasimpsonbooks speaks truth, take precautions in all that blood, sweat and tears you’ve shed.

  3. Daniel says:

    Congratulations! I would suggest one change to your plan for revising – instead of sharing with family and friends, find a writer’s group in person or on line, and have people who’s writing you respect read your work. Your family and friends are likely to tell you everything is wonderful, where are another writer-stranger will give you the perspective of an educated reader. Good luck!

    • Thank you for your advice! I’m definitely going to find like-minded writers, but still within my friend-sphere. Simply because I’m a bit paranoid and I lack a lot of self-confidence in my writing so I think I need the right balance of finding people who I’m close to but who I know will tell me the complete truth. Luckily a lot of my loved-ones don’t shy away from being bluntly honest with me!

      Thank you for reading 🙂

  4. How truly wonderful 🙂 Congratulations. Admire your perseverance.
    Wait a few hours/days to edit. Need a decompressed mind to edit.
    Have some friends who can help be readers? Peer editting can be
    fun and a time saver. Big Smiles

    • Thank you for your lovely words! I’m definitely taking the time to decompress now. I was eager to get in there to begin with, but taking a step away from the world and the characters I’ve created will definitely help gain some perspective before I start dishing it out to a handful of my closest confidants for scrutiny.

      Thank you for reading! 🙂

  5. M E McMahon says:

    Bravo! Writers all love the ability to finally put the words “The End” on paper. I know the thrill I got when I wrote my novel (my first also) at Camp NaNoWriMo. Only 30,000 words but that has grown with revisions…as my plot and characters have grown.

    Only other writers know of the tears and sweat involved in completing a novel and reading some of your posts…I too felt the same way. Can I do…should I do it…will I do it become daily questions. Then we just did it!

    And now, you are embarking on the next stage…revisions. I am also going through that stage and found that the best writing resource I have is the ability to find fellow bloggers willing to read and critique my chapters. That’s gold to me.

    Good luck on the next stage and enjoy the fruits of all that hard work!

    • Thank you for your lovely words! I really enjoy hearing from other writers, it certainly makes you feel less alone when you know there are like-minded people out there who are going through some of the same inner-turmoils as you. I’ve definitely discovered a lot about myself and about being a writer through this blog.

      Thank you for reading! 🙂

      • M E McMahon says:

        The great thing about WordPress is the community of writers that have your back during the writing process! Keep writing and I’ll look forward to your future posts!

  6. Anarette.com says:

    Congratulations, and thanks for following! Looking forward to read about your next steps.

  7. Congrats and you’ve got a lovely blog.

  8. will4568 says:

    Congratulations, and thanks for following.

  9. Susi Lovell says:

    Congratulations on finishing your first draft. I hope you celebrated! I totally agree with Daniel above who suggests finding a writing group to comment rather than family and friends. When you do get comments, don’t feel you have to adjust the story to respond to every bit of advice, just the ones that are niggling away in your mind a few days or weeks later. Good luck.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment! I definitely did a good bit of celebrating by dancing around my flat and giving my boyfriend lots of hugs. I’m going to put a lot of work into it still, but it’s nice to have some recognition for the achievement as well.

      Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

