The Dreaded Blinking Cursor

https://i2.wp.com/i.imgur.com/qnb80mQ.jpg

So, you’re a writer. You’ve sat down at your desk with your PC/laptop/typewriter and you’re ready to get going. So why aren’t you doing anything?

I’m having one of those days today. I know I should be working towards my goal, but I’m just not getting anywhere. That bloody cursor is blinking at me, batting it’s eyelashes and saying, “You’re not afraid of little ol’ me, are ya?” So what am I supposed to do to get myself motivated?

It’s because I’ve reached the 40,000 word mark, that’s why. It’s the point in the book where you start to wonder if the whole endeavour is futile. I know it’s not, because at no point so far have I genuinely hated anything I’ve written. I feel like with a good bit of editing – adding, omitting, tweaking – it could be the first thing I’ve written that I’m actually happy with.

Anyway, this is a short one tonight because I feel like I need to actually get one and do something. Also this heat is making me so lethargic I can hardly keep my eyes open and it’s not even 9pm yet. Maybe I should just call it a night and crawl under my duvet.

4 comments on “The Dreaded Blinking Cursor

  1. njmagas says:

    The curse of the blinking cursor hits me hardest when the page is blank. Even if I’m just starting a new chapter, continuing from a cliffhanger, a blank page with that little mocking cursor stops me every time!

  2. I’ve had conversations with the dreaded blinking cursor so many times. I thought I was the only one!

Leave a Reply

